A Quick Rainbow Rant

by jillst

When I was a little kid, my mum had rules about the order in which we could eat our dinner:

1. The actual healthy dinner part

2. A yoghurt

3. A fun-sized chocolate bar

Similarly, Jesus gave Christians some rules about the order in which we should prioritise things:

1. Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength

2. Love your neighbour as yourself

3. Other crap that you personally might feel benefits the world and people and stuff*

And man, some of you other Christians must be doing a heck of a good job on those first two, because you all have SO MUCH time to write reams of mean comments about gay marriage! Man, it must feel so nice to have those first two out of the way!! Good for you!

Me myself, I have my hands totally tied up with trying to transform myself (a complete failure at life) into the kind of good and faithful servant God is after – and having just written this huge sarcastic rant has just made sure the process of loving my fellow man will take even longer!! Even when I do(n’t) get through it though, I’ve just thought of one other thing I’d do before I’d make a meme about reclaiming the sign of the Nohaic covenant and – oh wait, it’s everything in the world ever!!

Maybe you could find a gay person and ask them some questions about their life and be nice and genuinely care about them and then ask them if they’d like to know more about Jesus and continue to be their friend even if they say no. I wonder if anybody has thought of that before.

I’m being sarcastic guys. Jesus did that.

Sure I’ll hear about this the next time we run into each other at a Katoomba convention,

Jill

*Not a quote by Jesus

